Foods to Eat (and Foods NOT To!)

170806_Aminitas

Amanitas (not good to eat)

August 6 – Seems we are always finding something different as we walk along the trails that run around our 18 acres. A couple days ago as I was checking on the iris bed, where I had just cut off the plants the day before, I looked ahead, and there, right off to my right past the old covered well, dug by hand, I saw a very interesting sight.

Amanitas! Poisonous mushrooms! As I walked along the row of 28, growing in a half circle, I remembered that we had the same sight last year. Right in the same place those huge round mushrooms were a delightful (?) sight. And, of course, as usual, I didn’t have my camera with me. Hurrying up the hill to the house, and picking up that camera, I was soon back at the site of the Amanitas.

170806_TentCats

[ Web worms (not good to eat, either) ]

The next day when I walked back to the mushrooms, I noticed something hanging from the branch of a tree nearby. Looked like a worm to me, kind of a reddish blue-gray color, and the poor branch was just about robbed of every bit of leaf. When the wind blew up a bit it looked like the worms were doing a jig! Just above the branch was a big tent-like home for the rest of the worms I couldn’t see the first time. Might be something beautiful and unusual in the tent, but anything that is connected with worms is not pretty to me. Last year I couldn’t reach the higher tents, so those worms continued to grow and enjoy life till they fell down to the ground, nest and all, having added their mess to the ground.

In our fenced-in garden, once the rains finally stopped for awhile in the spring, we planted several vegetables that we always enjoy eating through the summer. Unfortunately, we weren’t very fortunate as far as the plants growing and giving us food for the summer as they usually do.

170806_PepperPlanting

[ David hoeing next to the onions ]

Out of the many cabbage plants, we had not even one bit of coleslaw because a rabbit or two ate up the entire row. To finish out a row of onions, we planted five pepper plants. Just as they were settling down, something ate every one! At least we had a great crop of onions, big sweet ones that keep well during the winter. And then the forty tomato plants of so many varieties like Mortgage Lifter, Jersey Devil, Roma, Pearly Pinks, and some large pink varieties.

They have done so well, even though they had to survive a wet spell followed by very dry conditions. Our son David helped us put a cage around each plant, and so they all look healthy and good. When Dale found the first ripe tomato, I just let it lie on the counter in the kitchen, as we enjoyed looking at it, the first one of the year! Since then he has picked a number of large ones along with several varieties of the smaller ones, including the yellow Sun gold ones. Now we don’t have to choose to “save” the ripe tomatoes because we have enough that we can continue to slice them up for sandwiches. – CHRIS

This entry was posted in Yard & Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

