We Meet an Interesting Man…

Our local Aldis

Our local Aldis

October 24 – We met an interesting man at the Aldi store the other day. As I was checking out the fresh pomegranates, he asked me, “What do you do with those things?”

Well, there was only one answer. “We eat them!”

“Yes, I figured you do, but do you have any recipes that use them as one of the ingredients?” When I said no, he replied, “Well, we had to eat lots of those when I was a kid! My mother kept buying them because they are full of vitamins, and chewing them for such a long time kept us out of trouble!”

Pumpkin time in Missouri

Pumpkin time in Missouri

We continued our shopping for awhile before meeting the same man back at the pumpkin display, where he was just lifting a huge pumpkin out of the grocery cart. Now he must have been very strong, because with one hand he grasped the stem, and lifted it out quickly! All one-handed, and that pumpkin must have weighed 30 pounds.

“You sure must be strong,” I told him. “Let me try that.” So I did try, but with both hands I couldn’t lift the pumpkin high enough to get it out of the cart.

“I did develop a lot of muscle when I was in the service years ago,” he replied. “And I’m ONLY 86!” “And you don’t even wear glasses?” I asked. “No, I had cataracts taken off long years ago. A good deal, too, cost me just about five bucks!” That must have been a really long time ago, I thought. We sure did pay a lot more than that when Dale and I had ours removed! Lots of fun to meet up with interesting folks.

And so goes our life from day to day. Lots of good folks to enjoy, plenty of work to do, choosing the tasks we want to take care of, and thankful for the days as they go by, once more reminding us of the words from the poem, Pippa Passes. God’s in His heaven—all’s right with the world. – CHRIS

This entry was posted in Other, Town day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

