Teacher, Teacher – Part 2

Ian and Kelly

Ian and Kelly

October 14 – So many memories of teaching kids in grades one through eight all through those years in the early seventies. It has always been a real blessing to hear from them via letter or greeting card, but now it’s much easier keeping in touch through e-mail! Our love for each other has never changed, and it’s good to know that, even now if they have a bit of a problem, they ask me for a little bit of advice. Nothing in the world like kids, small and young, or taller and grown up! Lots of funny things happened during those school years, and they bring back so many good memories.

I’ll just tell one about a little boy in first grade. Since I expected the kids to behave even if I weren’t actually in the classroom for a bit, one day I just walked out towards the gym. All was quiet. Still quiet. Then I heard lots of chuckles and wondered what had happened. I stopped just outside the door and heard Ian call out in a sing-song voice as he danced around the classroom, “What’s my name? What’s my name?” His antics were so comical I felt like laughing right along with his classmates!

Students in 1985 (Ian holding sign)

Students in 1985 (Ian holding sign)

About a minute later, Kelly, one of the first grade girls, caught sight of me and stood up in front of Ian. “Well, you’re going to have a different name now!” she said. “Your name is MUD because Mrs. Fairchild is standing right outside the door!” Poor Ian! I don’t remember that he had much more than a half-hearted reprimand because I had such a hard time controlling my laughter! As Kelly has kept in touch with me over the last 30 years, we still remind each other of the time that Ian turned into MUD!

When I finally retired from Lake Erie Junior Academy, I certainly was not content to toss in the towel and loaf around for the rest of my life. Rather than doing that, I chose to volunteer at the Adult Learning Center where I worked with students who had dropped out of school before graduating, or those whose second language was English. Students from South America, Europe, and Asia all wanted help in becoming more fluent in English and were focused on working as hard as possible so they could pass their GED. How much I enjoyed the staff and the students! – CHRIS

This entry was posted in History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

