The Golden Horn

201409_LepantoSeptember 25 – Our son tells us that today is something called #throwbackthursday, so here’s a short story from our family’s past history…

While we were talking at breakfast the other day, Dale quoted a couple lines from a poem he had learned many years ago when he was a high school student at Helderberg College in South Africa. After quoting some words to me about “something like a horn glittering in the sun,” he asked me if I knew the rest of the poem or who wrote it. Well, I could quote lots and lots of lines of poetry and even come up with the poets, but I had never heard THOSE particular lines before.

I figured Google would come up with the answer if I asked, so for an hour I typed and re-typed words in the Google box. Up came so many quotes using “horn,” or “glittering in the sun,” etc., but not one read as Dale had quoted.

“Seems to me that it might have something to do with Constantinople,” I told him, “and sounds like Chesterton.” After Dale left to do the weed eating job, I thought, “why don’t I zip off a note to son David (also a poetry enthusiast), and see if he can find the quote?” So I sent off my request at 9:38 am, and he sent me back the following answer exactly five minutes later:

Would it be Lepanto by G.K. Chesterton? It has this couplet in it:

From evening isles fantastical rings faint the Spanish gun,
And the Lord upon the Golden Horn is laughing in the sun.

Nice to have somebody who knows what a computer can do if it is run by someone who knows how! Neither Dale nor I do all that much, but we have fun just the same! – CHRIS

This entry was posted in History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

